The Consortium consists of an eight-member Coordinating Committee. The committee is co-chaired by Tiffany Hartung, Coordinator, Maryland Climate Coalition and Cindy Parker, Assistant Professor, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health; Associate Director, Johns Hopkins Environment, Energy, Sustainability and Health Institute.

The Coordinating Committee holds monthly calls and meets in-person twice a year to review Consortium progress and make decisions. The Consortium membership participates in decision-making processes at meetings, on calls, and through email communication.



Cindy Parker, Co-Chair

Cindy, Assistant Professor at Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, is a public health and preventive medicine physician who specializes in the health impacts of global climate change. In her role as Associate Director of the Johns Hopkins Environment, Energy, Sustainability and Health Institute, she motivates, facilitates, and coordinates interdisciplinary projects focusing on research, education, policy, and practice on the environmental and health aspects of topics such as climate change. Cindy also directs an undergraduate major in sustainability and co-directs several graduate programs in health and sustainability. As part of her work to educate the public and policy makers about the health effects of global climate change, she is a frequent speaker on the topic and in 2008 co-authored the book Climate Chaos: Your Health at Risk published by Praeger. She also serves on the National Board of Directors for Physicians for Social Responsibility (PSR), in the local Chesapeake Chapter of PSR, and the Board of Directors for the Chesapeake Climate Action Network.


Tiffany Hartung, Co-Chair

Tiffany is the Coordinator for the Maryland Climate Coalition. There she works with coalition partners to build on Maryland’s clean energy and climate policies and make Maryland a leader in clean energy. Originally from Michigan, Tiffany received a bachelor’s degree in Resource Development and Environmental Science from Michigan State University. Tiffany previously worked for the Sierra Club Beyond Coal Campaign in Michigan. She has also worked as a community organizer with Statewide Organizing for Community Empowerment, a rural environmental justice organization in Tennessee, and as regional organizer with Tennesseans for Fair Taxation.



Dannielle Lipinski

Dannielle is the Communications and Outreach Manager for the Maryland League of Conservation Voters. She manages Maryland LCV’s internship programs, volunteers, outreach activities, online fundraising and communications. She graduated from University of Maryland Baltimore County with a degree in Environmental Studies and minors in Legal Policy and Economics. She has lived in Maryland her whole life but managed to travel to Australia and cuddle koalas. She lives in Catonsville with her husband and their son.

George “Tad” Aburn

Tad is the Director of Air & Radiation Management Administration for the Maryland Department of the Environment.



Karen Akerlof

Karen Akerloff

Karen is a research assistant professor with the Center for Climate Change Communication. She recently conducted a public opinion survey and deliberative event on sea-level rise impacts and policy strategies in Anne Arundel County, and has also researched global warming public opinion and household energy use behaviors for a regional watershed partnership and national lakeshore. Her work has appeared in the journals Nature Climate Change and Global Environmental Change.


Larissa Johnson

Larissa Johnson

Larissa is the Coordinator of Climate Change Outreach and Communication for the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science. Until spring 2014, Larissa was the coordinator for the Maryland Climate Coalition. For the last ten years, she has dedicated her life to working with and for communities: helping people create sustainable, walk-able, bike-able, healthy neighborhoods that cultivate hale and hearty children and invigorate the communities’ livelihood. Prior to receiving her MPA in Environmental Science and Policy from Columbia University’s School of International and Public Affairs she worked predominately in the field of nutrition, physical activity, and chronic disease prevention.



Samantha Kappalman

Samantha is Senior Director of Communications at The Hatcher Group. Previously, she worked as the Director of Communications for the Maryland Department of the Environment after nearly four years as a Senior Public Relations Specialist at the National Education Association. Prior to that, Samantha was Press Secretary for Lt. Governor Anthony Brown. Previous to her work with the O’Malley/Brown administration, Samantha was a speechwriter, Special Assistant to a Deputy Chief of Staff and Liaison to the Board of Public Works for Governor Parris N. Glendenning. She is a graduate of the University of Florida and has a master’s degree from the University of Maryland at College Park.



Sean Williamson

Sean is program manager for climate change and energy at the Environmental Finance Center at the University of Maryland. He has supported the University System of Maryland, the State of Maryland, and municipalities in the state with greenhouse gas inventories and mitigation planning.



Cheryl Casciani, Fiscal Manager

Cheryl Casciani is the Director of Neighborhood Sustainability for the Baltimore Community Foundation (BCF) where she is responsible for management of a range of initiatives aimed at strengthening Baltimore neighborhoods and making Baltimore a more sustainable city. Cheryl also serves as the Chair of the Baltimore Commission on Sustainability, which was created in 2008 and charged with developing and monitoring the implementation of Baltimore’s Sustainability Plan. She has a Master’s in Public and Private Management from the Yale School of Management and a Bachelors of Science in Economics and Bachelors of Applied Science from the University of Pennsylvania.